The hill that is believed to contain the remains of Yusha has two windows that open to the inside and to the outside. This hill is also a location that provides a unique view of the Bosphorus. Its other window opens to the spiritual world of Yusha Hill. Theses two features made Yusha Hill indispensable for centuries. Yusha promenades were taken in the spring and summer in earlier times. Market boatsmen called in the piers, saying “The market boat is at Yusha, press the halwas, fill the dolmas, come early go early! “ According to Leyla Saz, when the announced date arrives, the market boat adorned with flags and flowers moves out filled with women of all ages and all colors adorned with colorful feraces; children of all ages. First, the feast was eaten.
The first timers were very surprised. Yusha’s Shrine is a very long tomb enclosed with short walls, inside mountain flowers and greeneries.
According to a legend, the Prophet Yusha came to Mecme-ul Bahreyn, meaning “Bosphorus” with Moses and died, interred in this hill.
Following the spiritual discovery of the milk sibling of Suleiman the Magnificent, Yahya Efendi, the shrine was flooded with visitors and the 28th Grand Vizier Çelebizade Mehmet Sait Pasha built a masjid near the tomb in 1756. When the visits became very crowded in Selim III.’s rule due to heavy interest by the people of Istanbul, caused some restrictions on the visits.
It is known that the Yusha Mosque experienced a fire and restored in 1863 by Sultan Abdulaziz. The Mosque was registered in the Ottoman Archives as the Dervish Lodge of Prophet Yusha subject to the Kadiriye Congregation. It is known that Rifai and Sadi sheikhs came to the tomb by raising their flags, and that the Nakshi Sheikh, Ahmed Ziyauddin Gumushanvei erected his lodge on this hill in the summer months until the 20th century.